What Could Happen at Trial? | Law Office of John Guidry

John Guidry

Oh, the questions I get. I wish I could answer every one of them. After defending criminal cases here in Central Florida for over 30 years, I have a pretty good idea of what happens at a criminal trial. But I’ve also been around long enough to know that I don’t know everything. There are some things we know we don’t know, and there are some things we don’t know that we don’t know.
The Law Office of John Guidry, P.A. 407.423.1117

How to Get a Hardship License After a DUI Arrest

John Guidry

Criminal defense attorney John Guidry discusses how you can get a hardship license after your license was suspended due to a DUI charge and the costs of a hardship license. A hardship license is a license for first offenders only and it allows you to drive despite not having your full license back due to the DUI. To get a hardship license, you must sign up for the DUI school “Level One, bring your paperwork to the class and pay for the class. After you have signed up, you will have to take proof of the class to the Bureau of Administrative Reviews and they can administer a hardship license. John Guidry shares that you only have 10 days to get a hardship license; thus, it’s important to act fast.

Top 2 Mistakes Police Make on DUI Arrests in Florida

John Guidry 2

We defense attorneys love it when the police make mistakes on a DUI case, because the more mistakes they make–the better your case will be. Entire books have been written about the sort of things that can go wrong for the police on DUI cases, but for today, we’re going to oversimply things and boil it down to two major problem areas for law enforcement.

What to do Right After a DUI Arrest in Florida

John Guidry 2

Here in Florida, going to jail for a DUI is just the beginning of the ordeal. Once you’re out of jail, there’s lots of homework that needs to get done. First off, a DUI arrest usually leads to a suspension of your driver’s license for either 6 months or a year. In this video, we’re going to talk about what needs to be worked on once you bond out on a DUI.

DUI Diversion, The Basics by John Guidry

Handcuffed Man

Criminal defense attorney, John Guidry, discusses DUI diversion programs. A DUI diversion program is an option for offenders to take that requires them to jump through various hoops in order to have their charges dismissed. In Central Florida, however, these programs are extremely selective. For example, if your DUI involved you getting into an accident, you will not be selected. If your case involved vehicle safety issues, you will not be selected. Additionally, any past offenses (including the teen court) will not allow you access to the program.

DUI First Offender Program in Seminole County

Landmark Legislation in Illinois Abolishes Cash Bail - photo

Criminal defense attorney John Guidry discusses a new DUI First Offender Program instituted in Seminole County. Eligible to people for their first offense,
the program won’t drop the DUI charge, but it will reduce it to a “reckless driving alcohol-related” charge. The program separates offenders into two tiers depending on their Blood Alcohol Level.

Tier one is for people that blew under a 0.15 BAL. They will have their DUI dropped to a reckless driving charge, they will receive a withhold of adjudication,
they will be required to do 6 months of probation, as well as participate in DUI school, the victim awareness program, 20 hours of community service, and
pay around $500 in fees.

People in tier two will have blown over a 0.15 BAL. These people will receive the same benefits as tier one, however, they will have to serve 9 months of probation, participate in DUI school and the victim awareness program as well as serving 50 hours of community service, not 20. Finally, they will have their vehicle impounded for 10 days.

The DUI programs can be tricky, but they are worth it to seal your case. If you would like assistance manipulating these programs contact a criminal defense
attorney at the Law Office of John Guidry.

Can I Get a DUI Without Ever Driving the Car?

Judge gavel and handcuffs on dark black background

Criminal defense attorney John Guidry discusses if you can get a DUI without driving a car. The answer is yes, but John describes how this isn’t always the case. Cops can arrest you for a DUI as long as you are in actual physical control of the car. If you’re drunk and sleeping it off in your car, make sure your keys are far away. John emphasizes that car key location is extremely important and can help prove you aren’t in physical control of your car.

Skip to content